[ Laureates of the International Prize Emmanuel Durlet for Piano ] - [ Emmanuel Durlet Foundation v.z.w. ] - [ Biography ] - [ Published Works + cd's ] - [ Concerti ] - [ Contact ] [ Home ]

Biography

Emmanuel Durlet was born in Antwerp on 11th October 1893.

His grandfather François-André Durlet was architect , professor at the Academy of Fine Arts, founder-custodian of the “Steen” Museum and one of the most important promoters of the Neo-Gothic style in Belgium. He conducted the renovation of Our Lady’s Cathedral and designed its magnificent choir stalls. A street in Antwerp is named after him. The father of Emmanuel Durlet was also an architect.

Emmanuel Durlet grew up in a sphere impregnated by the mysticism of the Middle Ages, which later on had an important impact on the direction and the contents of his work. Architecture fascinated him all his life.

Studies in Antwerp and Vienna

1912As a pupil of Frans Lenaerts at the Royal Flemish Conservatoire of Music in Antwerp, he obtained his degree for Piano with the highest honours at the early age of 16. Afterwards he attended Harmony courses given by Edward Verheyden and Composition courses by Lodewijk Mortelmans.

""As an exceptionally gifted pianist, Emmanuel Durlet should have been recognized as one of the greatest pianist of his generation.
Should his name have been Durletsky, this recognition would have been certain"
"

Lodewijk Mortelmans (1868-1952)

To improve his technique and interpretation style, he set off for Vienna in April 1912 to study under the world famous pianist and composer Leopold Godowsky at the Meisterschule für Klavier of the Kaiserliche Akademie für Musik. The outbreak of World War I prevented him from studying another year in Vienna. The war period is used to extend his repertoire.


Brilliant piano virtuoso

In 1918, Emmanuel Durlet embarked on a career as an unrivalled performer. One of his most brilliant achievements was the performance (by heart) of Beethoven’s 32 sonatas, spread over ten recitals in a period of two months.

At numerous concerts and recitals in Belgium and abroad, Durlet proved to be a piano virtuoso of the highest level. His contemporaries call him the “Poet of the Piano”. Alex de Vries declared: “Emmanuel Durlet is the pianist with the most beautiful ‘toucher’ I ever knew”. The news paper “Het Handelsblad” (16/9/1952) writes: “…those who had the privilege to hear him play received a message of beauty for their whole life. His hands made the music of Peter Benoit unforgettable. Playing a concerto of Mozart, Beethoven or Chopin he proves to be an artist blessed with an immense re-creative power to reveal the depths of the work. In his fingers technique became merely an element that served to express the inspiration of the composer at its highest level. But that technique was perfect in every way.”

Intelligent and sensitive pedagogue

In 1920, Emmanuel Durlet was appointed professor of piano classes for the higher grades at the Royal Flemish Conservatoire of Music in Antwerp. He held this function for 39 years, during which time his progressive technique and creative inspiration resulted in his training of numerous leading musicians: André Cluytens, Eugène Traey, Frans Cauwenberghs, Walter Crabeels, Denise Tolkowsky, Raf Belmans, Kamiel Cooremans, Frits Celis, Julien Esser, a.o.

To help his pupils build up their technical skills, he designed a four part course called “Piano Study and Technique” regarded as unique in the history of Belgian piano tutorials. For beginners he already wrote the method “I shall play the Piano ‘well’”.

Composer with pictorial imagination

1933In 1933 Emmanuel Durlet started to perform his own compositions. “Descriptive Poems”, “Fra Angelico’s Garden”, “Reed in the Breeze” and “Chrysanthemums” were the first of an impressive oeuvre, composed in a period of some 20 years. This oeuvre comprises:

1975Durlet prefers to give his works evocative titles. Descriptive and programmatic elements are a constant in his entire oeuvre. The organic integration of various piano techniques and the transformation of those brilliant techniques into an expressive and meaningful pianistic language, together with a highly individualistic melody and a rich and, at times, surprising harmony give the compositions a very personal and recognisable style.

[ Laureates of the International Prize Emmanuel Durlet for Piano ] - [ Emmanuel Durlet Foundation v.z.w. ] - [ Biography ] - [ Published Works + cd's ] - [ Concerti ] - [ Contact ] [ Home ]

[ Lauréats du Prix International Emmanuel Durlet pour Piano ] - [ Fonds Emmanuel Durlet a.s.b.l. ] - [ Biographie ] - [ Oeuvres éditées + cd's ] - [ Concerti ] - [ Contact ] - [ Home ]

Biographie

Emmanuel Durlet est né à Anvers le 11 octobre 1893.

Son grand-père François-André Durlet était architecte, professeur à l’Académie des Beaux-arts, fondateur-conservateur du Musée « Steen » et un des plus importants promoteurs du style néo-gothique en Belgique. Il mena les travaux de restauration de la Cathédrale Notre-Dame et réalisa ses magnifiques stalles. Une rue à Anvers porte son nom. Le père d’Emmanuel Durlet était également architecte.

Emmanuel Durlet passa sa jeunesse dans une atmosphère imprégnée de la mystique du moyen-âge. Cette influence déterminera l’orientation et le contenu de son œuvre. L’architecture fascinera Emmanuel Durlet toute sa vie.

Etudes à Anvers et à Vienne

1912Au Conservatoire Royal Flamand de Musique à Anvers il étudie le piano chez Frans Lenaerts. En 1910, à l’âge de 16 ans, il obtient son diplôme de fin d’études avec la plus grande distinction. Il suit des cours d’harmonie chez Edward Verheyden et de composition chez Lodewijk Mortelmans.

""Emmanuel Durlet, avec son talent pianistique exceptionnel, aurait dû être reconnu comme un des plus grands pianistes de son temps.
Si son nom avait été Durletsky, cela aurait certainement réussi"
"

Lodewijk Mortelmans (1868-1952)

En avril 1912 il part pour Vienne pour parfaire sa technique et son art d’interprétation chez le pianiste-virtuose Léopold Godowsky à la Meisterschule für Klavier de la Kaiserliche Akademie für Musik. Le début de la première guerre mondiale l’empêche d’y étudier une année supplémentaire. La période de guerre est consacrée à Anvers à l’enrichissement de son répertoire.


Brillant virtuose du piano

En 1918 débute sa carrière de brillant virtuose. Il réalise entre autres l’exécution intégrale (de mémoire) des 32 sonates de L. van Beethoven – un véritable tour de force. L’audition du cycle complet comprend 10 séances dans une période de deux mois.

Durlet s’affirme comme pianiste au jeu perlé, virtuose et inégalable. Ses contemporains le nomment « le poète du clavier ». Alex de Vries dit de lui : « il est le pianiste avec le plus beau toucher que je connaisse ». Le journal « Het Handelsblad » (16/9/1952) écrit : « … celui qui a eu le privilège de l’avoir entendu jouer, porte en soi un message de beauté pour toute la vie. Sous ses mains Benoit devenait inoubliable. L’art de concevoir un concerto de Mozart, de Beethoven, de Chopin lui était propre dans le sens le plus complet du mot. Sous ses doigts la technique devenait un élément serviteur ayant pour but de mener l’inspiration du compositeur à sa plus haute forme d’expression. Et cette technique était parfaite à tous points de vue. »

Pédagogue intelligent et sensible

En 1920 Emmanuel Durlet est nommé professeur de piano pour le degré supérieur au Conservatoire Royal Flamand de Musique à Anvers. Pendant 39 années de professorat sa technique progressive ainsi que sa personnalité artistique et attachante se portent garants pour la formation de nombreux musiciens de valeur : André Cluytens, Eugène Traey, Frans Cauwenberghs, Walter Crabeels, Denise Tolkowsky, Raf Belmans, Kamiel Cooremans, Frits Celis, Julien Esser e.a.

Afin d’initier ses élèves à une technicité poussée, il conçoit l’ouvrage « L’étude et le jeu du piano » (comprenant 4 parties), considéré en Belgique comme unique dans l’histoire de la pédagogie du piano. Pour les débutants il avait déjà écrit la méthode « Je jouerai ‘bien’ du piano ».

Compositions riches en inspiration picturale

1933A partir de 1933 Emmanuel Durlet se met à composer. « Petits poèmes descriptifs », « Le jardin de Fra Angelico », « Roseaux sous la brise » et « Chrysanthèmes » forment le début d’une œuvre pianistique impressionnante, réalisée dans une période d’à peine 20 ans. Elle comprend:

1975Pour ses compositions Durlet choisit judicieusement des titres suggestifs. L’élément descriptif, riche en expression picturale, est une constante dans toute son œuvre. L’intégration organique des différentes techniques brillantes en un langage pianistique expressif et significatif, de pair avec une mélodie individualiste et des harmonies riches, parfois surprenantes, donnent aux compositions un style personnel et identifiable.


[ Lauréats du Prix International Emmanuel Durlet pour Piano ] - [ Fonds Emmanuel Durlet a.s.b.l. ] - [ Biographie ] - [ Oeuvres éditées + cd's ] - [ Concerti ] - [ Contact ] - [ Home ]